SoFi Bank Begins SoFiUSD Settlement for Its Mastercard Card Program
SoFi Bank and Mastercard launched SoFiUSD settlement for the bank's debit and credit cards; the $25 billion-plus figure is expected annual card volume, and CryptoSlate says migration is ongoing.
Read this event in 日本語
Why it matters
The arrangement puts a bank-issued stablecoin into live card settlement without requiring merchants to hold the token. CryptoSlate reported that the actual amount settled in SoFiUSD is undisclosed and full-program migration remains underway.
Key facts
SoFi Bank and Mastercard said SoFiUSD settlement is live for SoFi Bank's debit and credit card program across Mastercard's global network.
Reported by Crypto News Flash
SoFi Bank said it is the first U.S. nationally chartered bank to take stablecoin settlement live across Mastercard.
Reported by Crypto News Flash
SoFi said cardholders can keep using their existing cards.
Reported by Crypto News Flash
SoFi said participating merchants can receive funds in a SoFi Bank account through Big Business Banking without holding SoFiUSD or building separate blockchain infrastructure.
Reported by CoinGape
The $25 billion-plus figure is expected annualized card-program volume; CryptoSlate reported that SoFi had not disclosed the amount already settled in SoFiUSD.
25,000,000,000 USDDisputed figureReported by Crypto News Flash
The companies' partnership was first announced in March, when SoFiUSD settlement was described as a future option.
Reported by Crypto.News
CryptoSlate reported that the full-program migration remains underway and that SoFi has not disclosed how much has actually settled in SoFiUSD.
Reported by CryptoSlate
CryptoSlate reported that direct redemption of SoFiUSD is restricted to approved customers.
Reported by CryptoSlate
What happened
SoFi Bank and Mastercard said debit and credit card transactions in SoFi Bank's program now settle with SoFiUSD across Mastercard's global network, after presenting the arrangement as a future option in March. SoFi said cardholders can keep using their existing cards, while participating merchants can receive funds in a SoFi Bank account through Big Business Banking without holding the token or building separate blockchain infrastructure. The $25 billion-plus number represents expected annualized card-program volume; CryptoSlate reported that SoFi has not disclosed the amount already settled. CryptoSlate also reported that full-program migration remains underway and that direct redemption of SoFiUSD is restricted to approved customers. SoFi described SoFiUSD as the first stablecoin issued by a nationally chartered bank used for settlement across Mastercard's network.
How the story developed
- First report
First report by Crypto News Flash
SoFi Takes $25B-a-Year Card Program Live With Stablecoin Settlement
- Update
First report of live SoFiUSD settlement
Crypto News Flash reported that SoFi Bank had started settling Mastercard debit and credit card transactions with SoFiUSD.
- Independent corroboration
Independently corroborated by CoinGape
SoFi, Mastercard Launch Stablecoin Settlement Using SoFiUSD Following Ripple’s RLUSD
- Official statement
SoFi and Mastercard announce a settlement partnership
The March partnership described SoFiUSD settlement as a future option.
- Official statement
Official statement from Bitcoin.com News
SoFi Moves $25 Billion Mastercard Program Onto Stablecoin Rails
- Update
CryptoSlate updates on migration and disclosure
CryptoSlate said the full migration was still underway and the settled amount was undisclosed.
How coverage built up
Independent sources over time, counted the way the consensus panel counts them: a republication of a wire story does not move the line.
- 22 Sept 2026, 13:05 UTC: Crypto News Flash — 1 independent source, 1 reports
- 22 Sept 2026, 13:12 UTC: CoinGape — 2 independent sources, 2 reports
- 22 Sept 2026, 14:42 UTC: Crypto.News — 3 independent sources, 3 reports
- 22 Sept 2026, 23:43 UTC: Bitcoin.com News, official — 4 independent sources, 4 reports
- 23 Sept 2026, 00:16 UTC: Bitcoin Insider — 5 independent sources, 5 reports
- 23 Sept 2026, 07:45 UTC: Bitcoin Insider — 6 independent sources, 8 reports
- 23 Sept 2026, 12:30 UTC: CryptoSlate — 7 independent sources, 9 reports
Affected entities
Also mentioned: Solana, Ethereum, PayPal USD, Binance, Tether USDt, XRP, Arbitrum
Original sources
| Publisher | Report | Role | Published |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bitcoin.com News Company, official | SoFi Moves $25 Billion Mastercard Program Onto Stablecoin Rails | Independent | |
| Crypto News Flash Crypto media | SoFi Takes $25B-a-Year Card Program Live With Stablecoin Settlement | Original | |
| CryptoSlate Crypto media | Why Mastercard’s $25 billion crypto expansion isn’t what it seems | Independent | |
| Crypto.News Crypto media | SoFi moves $25 billion card program to SoFiUSD settlement on Mastercard | Independent | |
| CoinGape Crypto media | SoFi, Mastercard Launch Stablecoin Settlement Using SoFiUSD Following Ripple’s RLUSD | Independent | |
| Bitcoin Insider Aggregator | Stablecoin Settlement Now Powers SoFi’s $25 Billion Mastercard Program | Syndicated | |
| Crypto News (CryptoNews.net) Aggregator | SoFi Moves $25 Billion Mastercard Program Onto Stablecoin Rails | Syndicated | |
| Bitcoin Insider Aggregator | SoFi Begins Stablecoin Settlement on Mastercard Network | Syndicated | |
| Bitcoin Insider Aggregator | SoFi Begins Stablecoin Settlement on Mastercard Network | Syndicated |