BitcoinBTC, coin
StableLegal

Core Lightning tells operators on version 26.06.7 or earlier to upgrade after node attack reports

Core Lightning urged node operators running version 26.06.7 or earlier to upgrade immediately after reports that attackers were targeting unpatched nodes.

Why it matters

Lightning nodes hold channel balances, so a software flaw on an unpatched node can affect funds directly, and version 26.06.8 with the September patches has been available since Sept. 22. No losses have been confirmed and the targeted vulnerability is still undisclosed, so the size of any exposure is unknown.

Where the sources disagree

How the targeting was characterised

Core Lightning did not specify which vulnerabilities were targeted, and the warning does not establish whether the September fixes are involved

Cointelegraph, Crypto News (CryptoNews.net), Crypto.News

The issue stems from a known weakness that has already been addressed in newer versions, making the update the primary defense

Bitcoin Insider

Cointelegraph, Crypto News and Crypto.News describe the trigger as reports that attackers are targeting unpatched nodes, while Bitcoin Insider describes attackers as actively probing and targeting those nodes.

Key facts

Core Lightning told node operators running version 26.06.7 or earlier to upgrade to the latest release immediately.

Reported by Cointelegraph

Core Lightning said it issued the warning after receiving reports of attackers targeting unpatched nodes.

Reported by Cointelegraph

Core Lightning did not disclose which vulnerabilities are being targeted, what an attacker could achieve, or whether any reported attacks resulted in lost funds.

Disputed figureReported by Cointelegraph

On Sept. 16 Core Lightning said it was investigating reports of a potential issue in experimental features that could impact user funds.

Reported by Cointelegraph

Core Lightning released version 26.06.8 around six days after the Sept. 16 statement, on Sept. 22, with bug fixes and patches for vulnerabilities reported by outside researchers.

Reported by Cointelegraph

The 26.06.8 fixes covered flaws that could crash senders' nodes, exhaust memory through the REST interface and cause users to lose funds to a penalty during channel closure.

Reported by Cointelegraph

The 26.06.8 release notes credit the Bitcoin Red Team, 12 other named individuals and groups and anonymous reporters, and the release withheld some tests to make it harder for attackers to reproduce issues.

Reported by Cointelegraph

Crypto.News reported that the warning follows several Core Lightning security updates since August, when developers confirmed vulnerabilities after reviewing a wave of AI-generated reports.

Reported by Crypto.News

What happened

Core Lightning, the team behind open-source node software for the Bitcoin Lightning Network, told operators running version 26.06.7 or earlier to upgrade immediately, saying in an urgent security notice that it had received reports of attackers targeting unpatched nodes (Cointelegraph, Crypto News, Crypto.News, Bitcoin Insider). The team did not say which vulnerabilities the attacks target, what an attacker could achieve against an unpatched node, or whether any of the reported attacks cost users funds (Cointelegraph, Crypto.News). Crypto.News reported that the warning does not establish whether the reported attacks involve one of the flaws fixed in September or a separate issue, while Bitcoin Insider wrote that the issue stems from a known weakness already addressed in newer versions and that attackers are actively probing older nodes. The background is version 26.06.8, released around six days after Core Lightning said on Sept. 16 that it was investigating a potential issue in experimental features that could affect user funds; the Sept. 22 release patched node crashes, memory exhaustion in the REST interface and a channel-closing bug that could cost users funds to a penalty, and its notes credit the Bitcoin Red Team, 12 other named individuals and groups and anonymous reporters (Cointelegraph, Crypto News). Crypto.News also reported that the warning follows several security updates since August, when developers confirmed vulnerabilities after reviewing a wave of AI-generated reports. Core Lightning did not answer Cointelegraph's request for comment (Cointelegraph).

How the story developed

  1. Official statement

    Core Lightning says it is investigating a possible issue in experimental features

    The Sept. 16 statement covered a potential issue that could impact user funds.

    Cointelegraph

  2. Update

    Version 26.06.8 released with security patches

    The release arrived around six days after the Sept. 16 statement and its notes credit the Bitcoin Red Team, 12 other named individuals and groups and anonymous reporters.

    Cointelegraph

  3. First report

    First report by Cointelegraph

    Core Lightning warns attackers are targeting unpatched Bitcoin nodes

    Cointelegraph

  4. Update

    Cointelegraph reports the Core Lightning upgrade warning

    Cointelegraph published first on the urgent security notice telling operators on version 26.06.7 or earlier to upgrade, citing Blockstream as the source of the alert text.

    Cointelegraph

  5. Official statement

    Core Lightning issues urgent security update notice

    The team said that if you are running version 26.06.7 or earlier, you should upgrade to the latest release as soon as possible.

    Cointelegraph

  6. Independent corroboration

    Independently corroborated by Crypto.News

    Bitcoin Lightning security alert issued as attackers target older Core Lightning nodes

    Crypto.News

  7. Update

    Crypto.News adds that no lost funds have been disclosed and that updates date back to August

    The independent account reports the team has not said whether any reported attacks cost funds, and that the warning follows security updates since August tied to a wave of AI-generated vulnerability reports.

    Crypto.News

How coverage built up

Independent sources over time, counted the way the consensus panel counts them: a republication of a wire story does not move the line.

2 Oct, 04:182 independent sources2 Oct, 06:36
  • 2 Oct 2026, 04:18 UTC: Cointelegraph — 1 independent source, 1 reports
  • 2 Oct 2026, 06:34 UTC: Crypto.News — 2 independent sources, 3 reports

Affected entities

Original sources

PublisherReportRolePublished
Cointelegraph
Crypto media
Core Lightning warns attackers are targeting unpatched Bitcoin nodesOriginal
Crypto.News
Crypto media
Bitcoin Lightning security alert issued as attackers target older Core Lightning nodesIndependent
Crypto News (CryptoNews.net)
Aggregator
Core Lightning warns attackers are targeting unpatched Bitcoin nodesSyndicated
Bitcoin Insider
Aggregator
Core Lightning Warns of Active Attacks on Unpatched Bitcoin NodesAggregated
Core Lightning tells operators on version 26.06.7 or earlier to upgrade after node attack reports — Crypto News Intelligence